Dianne Glave: Ministry & Church

I had forgotten the visually stunning “Seven” (1995) until I watched it again on the American Movie Classics (AMC) channel. The film’s stars are Brad Pitt, Morgan Freeman, and Kevin Spacey.

The psychological thriller combines the genres of horror and film noir. The story-line focuses on a serial killer who murders based on the seven deadly sins of early Christian origin, which later evolved with Catholic theology and culture: wrath, greed, sloth, pride, lust, envy, and gluttony.

Galatians 5:19-20a (King James Version, KJV) comes closest to the list of seven: “Now the works of the flesh are obvious: sexual immorality, moral impurity, promiscuity,  idolatry, sorcery, hatreds, strife, jealousy, outbursts of anger.” I often go back to the KJV for the poetry of it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: